| What to file | Biennial report |
|---|---|
| State fee | Biennial report: $300 (every 2 years) source ↗ |
| Due | First biennial report due April 1 of the calendar year after registration, then every two years. |
| First deadline after forming | April 1 of the year after you register, then every two years. |
| Late fee | $100 |
| If you don't file | Not stated on fee page (reinstatement after administrative dissolution is $300). check with the state |
Government fees only. Report fees, taxes and late fees shown here are paid to the state, not platform or service fees.
Covers LLCs. Corporations file on different rules and fees; check with the state. Official rules: dlcp.dc.gov ↗. FormCost isn't affiliated with or endorsed by any government agency. Links go to official public pages.
How to file
File online on boss.dc.gov: look up your LLC, confirm or update its details (addresses, registered agent, managers or members) and pay the fee. It usually takes a few minutes, and you don't need a service.
File with District of Columbia ↗Official site: boss.dc.gov. No service needed.
BOI report: not needed for US-formed LLCs. Under FinCEN's final rule, effective August 14, 2026 (making the March 2025 interim rule permanent), companies formed in the US don't file beneficial ownership (BOI) reports. Only companies formed abroad and registered to do business in a US state report, generally within 30 days of their registration taking effect. Filing with FinCEN is free; ignore letters asking you to pay to file one. FinCEN ↗
District of Columbia LLC cost and yearly fees → What to do after you form All states
District of Columbia annual report FAQ
Does a District of Columbia LLC have to file an annual report?
Yes: a biennial report, $300/2 yrs, due Apr 1, every 2 yrs.
When is the District of Columbia LLC biennial report due?
First biennial report due April 1 of the calendar year after registration, then every two years. First one: april 1 of the year after you register, then every two years.
How much does the District of Columbia biennial report cost?
Biennial report: $300 (every 2 years).
What happens if I file the District of Columbia biennial report late?
Late fee: $100. Not stated on fee page (reinstatement after administrative dissolution is $300). Check the current rule with the state.
Does my District of Columbia LLC need to file a BOI report?
No, if it was formed in the US. Under FinCEN’s final rule, effective August 14, 2026, US-formed companies are exempt. Only companies formed abroad and registered to do business in a US state report, generally within 30 days of registering.
FormCost editorial team · Reviewed by our founder, an attorney by training with an MBA, who is part of the editorial team. How we check sources